The following locations have registered studies:

loading map - please wait...

Cornwall: 50.338449, -4.669189

Cornwall is a peninsula bordered to the north and west by the Celtic Sea, to the south by the English Channel and to the east by the county of Devon, over the River Tamar. Cornwall has a population of 536,000 and covers an area of 1,376 square miles (3,563 square kilometres). The administrative centre, and only city in Cornwall, is Truro, although the town of St Austell has a larger population.

Tin mining was historically important in the Cornish economy. In the mid-nineteenth century, however, the tin and copper mines entered a period of decline and subsequently, china clay extraction became more important. Metal mining had virtually ended by the 1990s. Traditionally fishing (particularly of pilchards) and agriculture (particularly of dairy products and vegetables) were the other important sectors of the economy. The railways led to the growth of tourism during the twentieth century, however, Cornwall's economy struggled after the decline of the mining and fishing industries.

The area is noted for its wild moorland landscapes, its long and varied coastline, its many place-names derived from the Cornish language, and a very mild climate. Extensive stretches of Cornwall's coastline and Bodmin Moor are protected as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

The following locations have registered studies: