North Yorkshire


The following locations have registered studies:

North Yorkshire is the largest county in England, almost spanning mainland England from coast to coast - the North Sea cost in the East to the western flanks of the Pennines in the west, just thirty miles from the Irish Sea. The county breaks down broadly into three parts: in the east, the North Yorks Moors and Cleveland Hills including the North York Moors National park and spectacular Yorkshire coastline; in the west The Yorkshire Dales including the Yorkshire Dales National Park; and in the middle are the Vales of York and Mowbray, a flattish plain draining to the River Ouse.

North Yorkshire was formed on 1 April 1974 as a result of the Local Government Act 1972, and covers most of the lands of the historic North Riding, as well as the northern half of the West Riding, the northern and eastern fringes of the East Riding of Yorkshire and the former county borough of York.

Covering an area of 3,341 square miles (8,654 square kilometres), North Yorkshire is mainly a rural farming county with seven administrative districts containing some 700 parishes. The largest city in the county is York, whereas the largest towns are Middlesbrough, Scarborough and Harrogate. However, the county town is Northallerton. Across North Yorkshire, there are few large towns with populations over 15,000.

Agriculture is an important industry in the county, as are mineral extraction and power generation. The county also has healthy high technology, service and tourism sectors.

The following locations have registered studies: