The following locations have registered studies:

loading map - please wait...

Clare: 52.862453, -9.047165

County Clare is an Irish county of 3,400 square kilometres in the province of Munster. Its boundaries are defined by water, bordered to the west by the Atlantic Ocean, to the south by the River Shannon and its estuary, to the north by Galway Bay and to the northeast by the third largest lake in Ireland, Lough Derg. Although Clare is the seventh largest county in Ireland, its population is comparatively much smaller with about 117,000 people. The vast migration of the nineteenth century means that many Clare descendants can now be found in North America, Great Britain, the South Pacific, South Africa and Argentina.

County Clare is an ancient place with megalithic tombs holding remains dating back to 3800 B.C. Ptolemy documented a tribe in this region in his map of about 100 A.D. Through medieval times, it was successively part of the Kingdoms of Connaught, Munster and Thomond. In 1543, Clare became part of the Kingdom of Ireland. Today, it carries a nickname of the Banner County possibly due to a local tradition of carrying banners.

The county is divided into baronies, civil parishes and townlands. These divisions define actual land ownership boundaries. Its main population centres are Ennis and Shannon. Harbouring facilities and the busy international airport at Shannon provide economic opportunities, along with the growth industries of professional services, public administration, tourism, transport, communication and commerce.

The following locations have registered studies: