The following locations have registered studies:

Argyll is a region of western Scotland corresponding with most of ancient Dál Riata that was located on the island of Great Britain. Argyll's neighbouring counties are Inverness-shire, Perthshire, Dunbartonshire, Renfrewshire, Ayrshire and Bute. Renfrewshire and Ayrshire are the other side of the Firth of Clyde. Bute is a county of islands in the firth.

In a historical context, Argyll can be used to mean the entire western coast between the Mull of Kintyre and Cape Wrath. Argyll, which is sometimes anglicised as Argyllshire, is a registration county of Scotland.

Some of the earliest artefacts found in Argyll, such as utensils, standing stones and burial cairns, date back to around 8,000 BC and can be seen on a number of islands, and at Kilmartin, Mid Argyll.

Between 1890 and 1975, Argyll was a county for local government purposes. Argyll was also a medieval bishopric with its cathedral at Lismore, as well as an early modern earldom and dukedom, the Dukedom of Argyll.

The following locations have registered studies: