The following locations have registered studies:

loading map - please wait...

Glamorgan: 51.754240, -3.455200

Glamorgan or, sometimes, Glamorganshire (Welsh: Morgannwg or Sir Forgannwg) is one of the thirteen historic counties and a former administrative county of Wales. It was originally an early medieval kingdom of varying boundaries known as Glywysing until taken over by the Normans as a lordship. Glamorgan is latterly represented by the three preserved counties of West Glamorgan, Mid Glamorgan and South Glamorgan. The name also survives in that of the county borough of the Vale of Glamorgan.

Although initially a rural and pastoral area of little value, the area that became known as Glamorgan was a conflict point between the Norman lords and the Welsh princes, with the area being defined by a large concentration of castles. After falling under English rule in the sixteenth century, Glamorgan became a more stable county and exploited its natural resources to become an important part of the Industrial Revolution. Glamorgan was the most populous and industrialised county in Wales and was once called the ‘crucible of the Industrial Revolution’, containing the world centres of three metallurgical industries and its rich resources of coal.

The county of Glamorgan comprised several distinct regions: the industrial valleys, the agricultural Vale of Glamorgan and the scenic Gower Peninsula. The county is bounded to the north by Brecknockshire, east by Monmouthshire, south by the Bristol Channel, and west by Carmarthenshire and Carmarthen Bay.

The following locations have registered studies: