Nova Scotia


The following locations have registered studies:

Map loading, please wait ...

Nova Scotia is a province of Canada. It is Canada’s second-smallest province (following Prince Edward Island) and is located on the south-eastern coast of the country. The province includes Cape Breton, a large island northeast of the mainland. The name Nova Scotia is Latin for “New Scotland,” reflecting the origins of some of the early settlers. Given its proximity to the Atlantic Ocean, Nova Scotia’s economy is largely influenced by the sea, and its harbours have served as military bases during many wars.

Between the two mountain ranges lie the fertile valleys of the Annapolis and Cornwallis rivers, which together constitute the well-known apple-growing region of Nova Scotia. The third fragment consists of the flat-topped Cobequid Mountain, rising to 300 m and extending 120 km across Cumberland County, while the fourth has its beginnings in the eastern highlands of Pictou County. It extends in a long narrowing projection through Antigonish County to Cape George. The fifth fragment, on northern Cape Breton Island, is a wild, wooded plateau that peaks to a height of more than 550 m above sea level. It contributes to the highly scenic character of Cape Breton Highlands National Park, especially as viewed from the Cabot Trail, which runs through it. In contrast, the southern part of Cape Breton Island is largely lowland.

Throughout the 17th century the English and French fought for control of Nova Scotia with its vast natural resources and as a strategic naval and military location. Finally, in 1713, The Peace of Utrecht gave the British control of Nova Scotia, although France retained Cape Breton Island and Prince Edward Island.

The following locations have registered studies: