East Yorkshire


The following locations have registered studies:

loading map - please wait...

East Yorkshire: 53.821589, -0.718998

East Yorkshire (or the East Riding of Yorkshire) is a local government district with unitary authority status, and a ceremonial county of England. Bordering North Yorkshire, South Yorkshire and Lincolnshire, the East Riding of Yorkshire also includes the city of Kingston upon Hull, which is a separate unitary authority. As a district, the East Riding borders North East Lincolnshire, beyond the Humber estuary; North Lincolnshire, beyond the Humber and on land; Hull, Doncaster, Selby, York, Ryedale and Scarborough.

The landscape consists of a crescent of low chalk hills, the Yorkshire Wolds, surrounded by the low lying fertile plains of Holderness and the Vale of York. The Humber Estuary and North Sea mark its southern and eastern limits. Archaeological investigations have revealed artefacts and structures from all historical periods since the last ice age. There are few large settlements and no industrial centres. The area is administered from the ancient market and ecclesiastical town of Beverley.

The economy is mainly based on agriculture and this, along with tourism, has contributed to the rural and seaside character of the county. These aspects are also reflected in the places of interest to visitors and major landmarks, which include historic buildings, nature reserves and the Wolds Way long-distance footpath.

The following locations have registered studies: