South Yorkshire


The following locations have registered studies:

South Yorkshire was created on 1 April 1974 as a result of the Local Government Act 1972 from thirty two local government districts of the West Riding of Yorkshire (the administrative county and four independent county boroughs), with small areas from Derbyshire and Nottinghamshire. A metropolitan county in the Yorkshire and the Humber region, it had a population of 1.34 million people in 2011. Consisting of four metropolitan boroughs - Barnsley, Doncaster, Rotherham and Sheffield - it is 599 square miles (1,552 square kilometres) in area.

Lying on the east side of the Pennines, South Yorkshire is landlocked and borders Derbyshire (to the west and south west), West Yorkshire (to the north west), North Yorkshire (to the north), the East Riding of Yorkshire (to the north east), Lincolnshire (to the east) and Nottinghamshire (to the south east). The ninth most populous conurbation in the UK - Sheffield Urban Area - dominates the western half of South Yorkshire with over half of the county's population living within it.

The main settlements of South Yorkshire grew up around the industries of mining and steel manufacturing. The main mining industry was coal which was concentrated to the north and east of the county. There were also iron deposits which were mined in the area. The rivers running off the Pennines to the west of the county supported the steel industry that is concentrated in the city of Sheffield. The proximity of the iron and coal also made this an ideal place for steel manufacture.

Although Christian nonconformity was never as strong in South Yorkshire as in the mill towns of West Yorkshire, there are still many Methodist and Baptist churches in the area. South Yorkshire also has a relatively high number of followers of spiritualism. It is the only county that counts as a full region in the Spiritualists' National Union.

The following locations have registered studies: