Greater Manchester


The following locations have registered studies:

loading map - please wait...

Greater Manchester, England: 53.457600, -2.157800

Greater Manchester is a metropolitan county in North West England, with a population of 2.8 million. It encompasses one of the largest metropolitan areas in the United Kingdom and comprises ten metropolitan boroughs: Bolton, Bury, Oldham, Rochdale, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford, Wigan, and the cities of Manchester and Salford. Greater Manchester was created on 1 April 1974 as a result of the Local Government Act 1972; and designated a functional city region on 1 April 2011.

Adopted by Manchester in the 19th Century, the Manchester Bee symbolises the industrious nature of the city and its people. The bee can be found on many of Manchester’s street furniture and can be seen within the mosaic floor in Manchester’s Town Hall.

The following locations have registered studies: