Greater London


The following locations have registered studies:

loading map - please wait...

Greater London: 51.430921, -0.093650

Greater London is an administrative area created on 1 April 1965, comprising the City of London and thirty two London boroughs, of which twelve are Inner London and twenty Outer London boroughs. The Greater London Authority, consisting of the Mayor of London and the London Assembly, headquartered in City Hall, has been responsible for strategic local government since 2000. Greater London occupies the same area as the London European Parliament constituency. It is at the first level of Nomenclature of Territorial Units for Statistics (NUTS), covering 607 square miles (1,572 square kilometres) and had a population of 8,174,000 at the 2011 census. It has by far the highest GVA per capita in the United Kingdom.

The term Greater London was in use before 1965 to refer to various areas larger than the County of London and often similar to the Metropolitan Police District.

The following locations have registered studies: